TJB Hall of Fame – The Class of 2013

Before we get fully immersed in pre-camp preparations, let’s take this opportunity to wrap up TJB Hall of Fame week by sharing this year’s tribute articles and giving you one last chance to pay tribute and/or put forward a case for your favorites to be inducted next year.

Following another great collection of tribute articles recognizing great Jets and fan favorites and enabling us to go back and re-live some great moments of the past, we are proud to present your TJB Hall of Fame Class of 2013:

Randy Rasmussen
– by Bent
Mike Westhoff
– by R in CT
Victor Green
– by Bent (BONUS: TJB Podcast with Victor)
Lance Mehl
– by Brian Bassett

There are obviously still plenty of worthy candidates that many of you would like to see selected for a tribute in future. We take a more detailed look after the jump.

In consideration of who may have been overlooked this year – and don’t blame us, because we took on board your comments and last year’s poll results in this year’s selection! – let’s close with a look at who some other sources have ranked as top Jets:

Pro Football Reference: Top five Jets not yet in the TJB Hall of Fame by AV – Shaun Ellis (Note: Was not eligible this year as he had not yet officially retired), Dan Alexander, Ralph Baker, Jerome Barkum, Rich Caster (Note: Darrelle Revis would be placed fifth but is not eligible yet).

By official NFL stats: All-Pros not in the TJB Hall of Fame (not including active players) – Bob Mischak (2), Bill Mathis, Pat Leahy, Tom Tupa, Art Powell. Multiple time Pro Bowlers not in the TJB Hall of Fame – Verlon Biggs, Caster (3 each), Mischak, Mathis, O’Brien, Keyshawn Johnson, Erik McMillan, Jim Turner, Alan Faneca, Sherman Plunkett, Dainard Paulson (2 each)

Jets Ring of Honor: Members not yet in the TJB Hall of Fame – None

Jets “Four Decade Team“: Members not yet in the TJB Hall of Fame (not including active players) – Jason Fabini, Jim Sweeney, Greg Buttle, James Hasty, Bill Baird, Bruce Harper, Leahy, Chuck Ramsey.

Certainly some food for thought there and plenty of worthy candidates for discussion next year, although this doesn’t necessarily comprise an exhaustive list of potential inductees.

Here were the previous inductees:

Wayne Chrebet – by Bent.
Curtis Martin – by R in CT
Joe Klecko – by Bassett.
Dennis Byrd – by Bassett.
Al Toon – by Bent
Joe Namath – by R in CT
Larry Grantham – by Bassett
Wesley Walker – by Bent
Mo Lewis – by Angel Navedo
Winston Hill – by Bent
Don Maynard – by R in CT
Matt Snell and Emerson Boozer – by Bassett
The Sack Exchange – by Bent
Aaron Glenn – by Angel Navedo
Freeman McNeil – by R in CT
Marvin Powell – by Bent
Weeb Ewbank – by Andrew Garda
Mickey Shuler – by Jason from OTC
Kevin Mawae – by Angel Navedo
Gerry Philbin and John Elliott – by Bent
Sonny Werblin – by Bent
George Sauer – by Daniel Marcus
Kyle Clifton – by Angel Navedo
Dave Herman – by Jake Steinberg
Joe Fields – by Bassett

Let’s hear your suggestions for next year in the comments!